Wroclaw Chamber Orchestra

Encouraged by Tadeusz Strugala, a few musicians founded Leopoldinum in 1978. Its first concert took place in the Wroclaw Philharmonic concert hall in April 1979. The ensemble's name derives from the name of one of Europe's most precious monuments of baroque architecture: Aula Leopoldina in the Wroclaw University‚ which is known for its splendid acoustics.

This 15-member ensemble achieved great attention from the listeners and critics in Poland and many other countries: Belgium, Czech, Denmark, France, Germany, Holland, Iraq, Luxembourg, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland; in concert halls: Philharmonie and Schauspielhaus in Berlin, Tivolis Koncertsal in Copenhagen, Teatro Victoria Eugenia in San Sebastian; on festivals: Tivoli in Copenhagen, Muziekfestival West-Brabant in Holland, Bodensee-Festival in Germany, Echternach Festival in Luxembourg and on festivals in Poland: Wratislavia Cantans and Musica Polonica Nova in Wroclaw, and in Duszniki Zdroj, Lancut, Sandomierz, Szczawno Zdroj, Tarnow, Warszawa...

The orchestra's guests include: Kaja Danczowska, Irena Grafenauer, Jadwiga Kotnowska, Ewa Kupiec, Ewa Poblocka, Ewa Podles, Andrzej Bauer, Vadim Brodski, Ian Brown, Reinhold Friedrich, Krzysztof and Kuba Jakowicz, Krzysztof Jablonski, John-Edward Kelly, Jerzy Maksymiuk, Wojciech Michniewski, Marcin Nalecz-Niesiolowski, Bartlomiej Niziol, Piotr Paleczny, Boris Pergamenschikow, Marek Pijarowski, Piotr Plawner, Grigori Zhislin.

Late Maestro Karol Teutsch, famous chamber music artist, was for many years Leopoldinum's artistic director and creator of its style. During 1993-95 this position was held by violinist Jan Stanienda and in 1999-2000 by Stefan Bevier. Since late 1980's orchestra works under the leadership of its concertmaster, Zbigniew Szuflat.

Leopoldinum has well established its presence among ensembles of its type in Europe. Its quality is established by the regular invitation to one of the best concert halls: the Berlin Philharmonie